The Bully Spirit Award

The highest honor bestowed by the Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation.
Presenting the 2023 Bully Spirit Award recipients: Char & Duey Marthaller.

“Grandma, I wonder what Medora’s going to be like when I bring my kids here.”


Those words from their young granddaughter reaffirmed the years of passion and hard work that Char and Duey Marthaller have given to Medora. The quiet, humble pair of volunteers have taken on countless projects that have improved or added to the charm of Medora. And their “why” is simple: so that future generations will make wonderful memories here the way they have.


Spend five minutes watching this video to learn more about Duey and Char Marthaller, and see exactly how great of an impact they’ve had on Medora.

The Bully Spirit Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation to an individual or couple who have committed extraordinary effort and dedication to fulfill and advance the mission and vision of the foundation: to connect people to Medora for positive, life-changing experiences.


Bully Spirit Award recipients will be known for their extraordinary efforts to share the history of Medora, Harold Schafer, and Theodore Roosevelt, their impact through volunteerism, their generosity, their care for the landscape, their optimism which fuels action and achievement, and their extraordinary, positive impact on the greater world in which they live.


Watch this video to learn more about the Bully Spirit Award.


2022: Mike & Peggy Bullinger

2021: Bill & Jane Marcil

Kacks 2

2020: Jim & Joanne Kack

2019: Frank Larson

2018: Rolf Sletten